Young Scholar Workshop in Leuven - A new dawn for the Network of Young Scholars in Cooperative Studies

17 Jul 2023
YS Workshop in Leuven

On July 10th, 23 master's, PhD, and post-doctoral students in cooperative studies from four different continents attended the Young Scholar Workshop at the International Cooperative Alliance CCR Global and European Conference titled "Innovating in Cooperative Governance. Governing Cooperative Innovation" in Leuven, Belgium.

The YS Workshop was organized by Fréderic Dufays (KU Leuven), Paola Raffaelli (former Young Scholar Representative ICA - CCR) and Camilla Carabini (Young Scholar Representative ICA - CCR) with the support of the Young Scholars Initiative of the Institute for New Economic Thinking.

Prof. Cynthia Giagnocavo, the new Chair of the ICA CCR Global, open the workshop by highlighting the importance of young scholars for the future of cooperative research. She emphasized the importance of employing robust methodology and reliable data to be able to state the impact of cooperatives in the world today and how research can contribute to the transformation towards a more innovative and environmentally conscious cooperative movement.

Prof. Benjamin Huybrechts (IÉSEG Management School) discussed how coops can inspire scholars outside the field. He provided valuable insights on the publishing journey, guiding the young scholars to the appropriate journals to connect with. Prof. Tine De Moor (Rotterdam School of Management) led an engaging workshop on the impact of research, prompting young researchers to contemplate the significance of reciprocity. She emphasized the importance of approaching interviews and data collection with a cooperative mindset and striving to give back to interlocutors or hosting institutions.

Serendipity and failures are an integral part of the path to a successful career, Prof. Laura Colombo (University of Exeter Business School) mentioned while sharing her path from being a Young Scholar to obtaining a good position in a University. Frédéric Dufays organized a memorable activity to think on the relevant characteristics to position oneself and his/her own research when having a job interview in the Academia.

Lastly, Camilla Carabini (University of Milano - Bicocca), the new YS Representative, conducted a participatory exercise with the group to share ideas and challenges to draft the strategy of the Young Scholars Network for the next four years. Furthermore the group could brainstorm on how to expand the network and attract new young scholars, recognizing the importance of fostering a vibrant and inclusive research community: stay tuned to learn more about that!

YS Workshop in Leuven_Group

Overall, the workshop was a resounding success, primarily due to the significant participation of young scholars who displayed not only enthusiasm for research but also actively engaged in fostering impactful change within their respective communities. Additionally, it served as a valuable platform for exchanging experiences and addressing the challenges encountered during the initial stages of a PhD career. Notably, the conference showcased a heightened focus on innovation, circular economy, and sustainability, areas that attract numerous young researchers, thereby facilitating their active involvement and participation.

Discover the ICA CCR Young Scholar activities:

Share with the young coop scholars you know!

ICA CCR Camilla Carabini

The list of participants to the YS Workshop:

  • Ajibola Akanji - Lead City University
  • Dr. Lakshmi AJ - Sree Narayana College, Chempazhanthy, University of Kerala
  • Daniele Bigi - University of Roma Tre
  • Samuel Boscarello - University of Siena
  • Celia Carlier - Université de Mons
  • Louis Cousin - Université Laval & Université Paris Saclay
  • Emmanuel Dela - University of Life Science Prague
  • Marco de Nigris - Catholic University of Milano
  • Megi Gega - Wageningen University & Research
  • Asia Guerreschi -  University of Ferrara
  • Filiz Kinikli - Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
  • Karl Janelle - HEC Montréal
  • Marco LoMuscio - Euricse
  • Francesca Martinelli - Centro Studi Doc
  • Zoé Marlier - Université de Mons
  • Innocent Mumararungu - Université de Liège
  • Samuel Nii Pardie  - Wisconsin International University College, Ghana
  • Umberto Nizza - University of Verona
  • Yoannis  Perifanos - Ciriec Belgium
  • Aingero Ruiz - Universidad del Pais Vasco
  • Giulia Tallarini - Euricse
  • Flavia Zancan - University of São Paulo
  • João Fialho - ISCTE-IUL
Camilla Carabini
ICA CCR YS representative