4th International Conference on Co-operatives for Sustainable Development - 31 July - 2 August, 2024, Moshi, Tanzania

11 Mar 2024
Moshi University

The 4th International Conference on Cooperative and Sustainable Development is a platform for discussions on the connection between cooperatives and sustainable development and SDGs in particular. It provides an avenue for participants to critically look unto the existing practices and recommend for new ways of cooperation with cooperative enterprises significantly contributing to sustainable development at enterprise, national, regional and global levels. The Conference is jointly organised by MoCU and CUK. It is scheduled to take place for three consecutive days in Moshi, Kilimanjaro, Tanzania.


Subthemes and topics

Sub-theme 1: Co-operative Governance and Sustainable Development

  • Policy and legal environment
  • Co-operation among Co-operatives for sustainable development
  • Responsible and accountable leadership
  • Innovative co-operative governance

Sub-theme 2: The role of co-operatives in environment and natural resources management

  • Co-operatives and sustainable energy
  • Co-operatives and climate change
  • Water resource management
  • Mineral exploitation and management
  • Legal environment for co-operative interventions in natural resources
  • Co-operatives and blue economy
  • Co-operatives and circular economy

 Sub-theme 3: Co-operatives for inclusive development

  • Participation of Youth, women and people with disabilities and other special groups in Co-operatives
  • Co-operative principles and inclusive development
  • Role of Co-operatives in financial inclusion
  • Co-operatives and health services

Sub-theme 5: Co-operative for sustainable livelihoods

  • Concern for community and poverty alleviation
  • Agricultural co-operatives for food security
  • Insurance and employment
  • Skills development and capacity building
  • Economic diversification through Co-operatives
  • Co-operatives and housing

Sub-theme 6: Role of co-operatives in social and solidarity economy

  • Ethical consumption and fair trade
  • Social innovation in Co-operatives
  • Crisis response and resilience
  • Innovation and technology
  • Workers’ Co-operatives


Submission guidelines

  • An abstract and the full paper with contact address, email ID and mobile phone number.
  • An abstract should be composed of not less than 250 and not more than 350 words.
  • A full paper should not exceed 8000 words.
  • All documents should be typed in Aptos Display with a 12 font size, 1.15 spacing size for the main text and 1.0 spacing size for the endnotes/footnotes.
  • All authors shall use the latest American Psychology Association (APA) version to reference and cite their sources.
  • All abstracts and full papers shall be sent to: conference@mocu.ac.tz 


Conference schedule

  • Last date for submission of an abstract - Friday, 29th March 2024
  • Last date for submission of full paper(s) - Sunday, 30th June 2024
  • Conference date - Wednesday, 31st July 2024 to Friday 2nd August 2024


Conference website



Conference organizers

The Moshi Co-operative University (MoCU) is one of the public higher learning institutions in Tanzania. It is among the few specialized Universities in Africa offering academic and professional training in co-operative and business studies. The University visions at becoming an eminent academic institution committed to supporting co-operative and business development. It works to promote sustainable co-operative and business development through quality training, research and advisory services. 

The Co-operative University of Kenya (CUK) is a leading center for quality co-operative education, training, research, and consultancy in Kenya. CUK is a public institution that provides education and training with an emphasis on Cooperative development. It provides consultancy and research services to the Cooperative sector and related economies. The University was chartered on October 7, 2016 as The Co-operative University of Kenya under The Universities Act No. 42 of 2012. The University Charter granted on October 7, 2016 provides for the philosophy, objects and functions of the University. The University has three schools, with the flagship being the school of Cooperatives and Community Development (SCCD). The other schools include School of Business and Economics (SBE) and School of Computing and Mathematics (SCM). The University also offers Open, Distance and electronic learning. The programmes offered are differentiated to meet the diverse needs of the evolving industry.